Spaghetti Squash Casserole – A.K.A: Ugly Casserole

If you’ve ever cooked spaghetti squash, then you probably already know that once you mix it up with your favorite sauce, it doesn’t look all that appealing – at least I don’t think so.  Not to be to vulgar, but it always looks a bit like something that has been regurgitated and not like something you’d want to eat.  But you do want to eat it.  Trust me.  You do. squash_spaghetti

This recipe has an extra, “umm, I know it doesn’t look good but trust me it tastes good!” factor to it so I think it’s best to serve it to people who trust your cooking, like your family, and not presented to guests at your next fancy dinner party.  Unfortunately there aren’t any pictures because I forgot to take them – I’m a horrible photographer anyway and this dish would, most likely, not photograph well.  The measurements are guestimates because I rarely measure anything, and it’s open to whatever you may have on hand.  You will need something like this:

1 medium sized spaghetti squash

1 can of creamed corn

1/2 cup of italian style breadcrumbs (really optional, but I thought it added a little extra texture)

1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese (sounds gross, but it’s good!)

12 oz of your favorite marinara sauce (I used Rao’s tomato basil because it rocks! It’s also pricey at about $9.00 a jar – I used half of a jar that I had opened last week)

Freshly grated Parmesan cheese (optional, but good!)

Preheat your oven to 425.  Cook the spaghetti squash however you like.  I poked holes in the top and microwaved it for 12 minutes.  It exploded after about 9 minutes so I assumed it was done.  Use your judgment depending on the size.

Get rid of the seeds and scrape the stringy strands into a casserole dish.  This is a one dish meal, so make sure it’s large enough to mix everything up.  Toss in your can of creamed corn, the marinara sauce, and the cottage cheese.  Mix well, making sure that the strands are all separated and incorporated with the sauce.  Top with the breadcrumbs, you can use more or less than I did, and spray the top of the breadcrumbs with an olive oil spray (I used Trader Joe’s brand).  Place it in the oven with the rack in the middle and bake for about 40 minutes.  It will be really bubbly and smell yummy!  Let it sit on the counter for about 5-10 minutes to let the juices settle and the flavors blend.  The last step is to scoop it out into bowls and top with some Parmesan cheese!  I put hot sauce on mine because I can no longer enjoy anything without hot sauce on it.

I didn’t add salt and pepper because the creamed corn had salt.  Feel free to taste it before you bake it to make sure it’s salty enough for you.  My boyfriend added extra Parmesan cheese, which I assume is because it needed just a bit more salt.

That’s it.  That’s the Ugly Casserole.  It’s cheap to make, tastes great, and it will probably taste even better today!

Here’s the nutritional breakdown (not including Parmesan cheese, and using a generic marinara sauce):

4 Servings

Amount Per Serving
Calories 274.5
Total Fat 5.2 g
Saturated Fat 0.9 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.2 g
Monounsaturated Fat 1.3 g
Cholesterol 2.3 mg
Sodium 1,139.0 mg
Potassium 667.9 mg
Total Carbohydrate 48.3 g
Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
Sugars 11.5 g
Protein 10.7 g
Leave a Reply

